Chair of the Committee of Ministers

Romania chairs the Committee of Ministers - November 2005 - May 2006

The Ministers for Foreign Affairs of Council of Europe member states hold the Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers on a rotating basis, each for a six-month term. Alphabetical order in the English language is followed.

The official handing over of office took place on 17 November. Romania will hold the Chairmanship until 19 May 2006. At the close of the 115th session of the Commmittee of Ministers, the Minister for Foreign Affairs of Romania, Mr Mihai Razvan Ungureanu, presented to his colleagues the priorities of the new Romanian chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers for the six months to come with a pledge to carry out the political declaration and action plan of the 2005 Warsaw Summit.

Committing itself to stepping up consultation and co-operation with all Council member countries, and to a pragmatic and transparent programme, Romania proposed a four-point programme on democracy, human rights, social inclusivity and European cooperation for its six month presidency.

  • Priorities of the Romanian Chairmanship

Reference websites