Web Content Display

Parliamentary Assembly Session: 25 to 29 January 2010

Mevlüt Çavuşoğlu from Turkey elected as new Assembly President

Mevlüt Çavuşoğlu

[25/01/2010 14:00:00] The 318-member Parliamentary Assembly elected on 25 January Mevlüt Çavuşoğlu (Turkey, EDG) as its new President at the opening of its plenary session in Strasbourg. Mr Çavuşoğlu succeeds Lluís Maria de Puig (Spain, SOC) as the Assembly’s 25th President. He is the first Turk to hold the office since Turkey’s accession to the Council of Europe in August 1949. ''I come from a country which has prided itself for two millennia on being a bridge between continents,'' Mevlüt Çavuşoğlu said in his first speech as Assembly President. (more ...)