Committee of Ministers chairmanship transfers from Ukraine to the United Kingdom

7 November, Strasbourg – Committee of Ministers chairmanship transferred today from Ukraine to the United Kingdom. The meeting of the Ministers’ Deputies today reviewed the Ukrainian chairmanship and looked at United Kingdom priorities for the coming six months.
Ukrainian Minister of Foreign Affairs, Kostyantyn Gryshchenko, presented the report on the Ukrainian Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe (11 May – 7 November 2011). (more…)

The United Kingdom Minister of Foreign Affairs, William Hague, presented his country’s priorities for the coming six months.

The overarching theme of the UK Chairmanship will be the promotion and protection of human rights, with a particular focus on reform of the European Court of Human Rights and strengthening implementation of the European Convention on Human Rights. The UK will also support Secretary General Thorbjørn Jagland’s programme of reform of the Council of Europe as an organisation. Priorities in thematic areas include strengthening the rule of law; internet governance, including freedom of expression on the internet; combating discrimination on the grounds of sexual orientation and gender identity; and streamlining the Council of Europe’s activities in support of local and regional democracy. (more…)